Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.08.54 AM

The New Sins aka producer Nick Phillips and his long-time collaborator Lou Hayter, ex-keyboardist of New Young Pony Club, make their Defected debut with ‘Lights Down’, a hypnotic house cut that comes alongside a remix from the on-form Waze & Odyssey. Described as “dangerously catchy” by Thump, ‘Lights Down’ features an effortless vocal from Hayter and ice-cool electro-leaning production underpinned by a solid, dancefloor-focussed groove.

Opening the EP is the Waze & Odyssey Remix of the track. Following the success of ‘Bump N Grind’, which peaked at No.3 in the UK Single Chart, the duo take a similar approach to reworking ‘Lights Down’, creating a track designed for the club but arguably destined for cross-over success. The original mix is more drum heavy with atmospheric synths and a real intensity to the sound that demonstrates The New Sins’ individual style of production.

‘Lights Down’ is out 30th March 2015.